What do Year Group Reps do?

The Year-Group Representative (YGR) Scheme is designed to foster closer links between Clare and its members. YGRs will liase with the College and its members and, in so doing, help to build a feeling of participation and mutual interest.

The primary role of a YGR is to serve on the Alumni Council (which will meet at least once a year) to evaluate the College’s alumni services and to seek and represent the views of their College contemporaries. In their representative role, YGRs will also be asked from time to time to provide feedback on other aspects of the College’s plans, with guidance from the Development Office.

YGRs are asked to gather news of their contemporaries’ careers, achievements, family events and other items of interest on a regular basis (at least once a year). Information gathered should be fed back to the Development Office at Clare on a timely basis for publication on the website and/or in other College publications. It is vitally important when gathering information that YGRs make it clear that such information may be published on the alumni website. The law stipulates that express permission must be obtained to publish any personal information on the internet.

E-mail [development@clare.cam.ac.uk] is likely to be the most efficient means of contact. If e-mail is not possible, the College will reimburse postage costs.

The Development Office will provide YGRs on request with the names, addresses and e-mail addresses (where they are known) of their College contemporaries. The Development Office will provide the information as a data file in a format acceptable to the YGR, as a printed list, or as address labels. The Development Office is happy to send out emails on behalf of YGRs.

On receipt of alumni contact information, a YGR will become subject to the terms of the Data Protection Act 1998. YGRs must therefore agree to keep the information secure, and not pass it on to any third party.


Appointment and Reappointment

There will ordinarily be just one YGR for each year of matriculation, but two or more may be permitted in special circumstances.

All YGRs are appointed for a fixed term, normally for a period of up to three years ending on 30 September in the final year.

An incumbent YGR may be re-appointed for a further term, following the procedure for the appointment of new YGRs (see 5 below). An incumbent YGR may retire at any time.

When a vacancy becomes apparent, the Development Office will make a call for nominations to all members of that matriculation year. This will be by email or post as appropriate, specifying a deadline of four weeks from the date of posting. If the incumbent YGR is willing to serve a further term, this will be mentioned in the call for nominations. The Development Office will check witih each nominee in turn whether they are willing or not to be elected, informing them of the name(s) of any other nominee. 

If there is only one nominee resulting, then that person is duly elected YGR. Otherwise a ballot is held (by email and post as appropriate) among all members of the matriculation year. Again, there will be a deadline of four weeks from the date of posting for the receipt of valid votes.

The nominee who gains a simple majority of the votes cast will be duly elected. Negotiations will be held in the case of a tie

If you would like to contact your Year Group Representative please contact the Development Office and we will pass their details on to you.


Current Year Group Reps:

Mr John Appleton

Professor Alan Gillett OBE DSc 1950
Dr George Knox 1951
Mr Robert K Jackson FRCS  1951
Dr John Owen MBE   1952
Mr David Kirkman  1953
Mr Michael Woods 1954
Mr Michael Sullivan  1955
Mr Stephen Jakobi OBE 1956
Dr Roger White 1957
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Hacking 1958
Mr Brian Hughes 1959
Mr John Biggs 1960
Mr Robert Wootton 1961
Professor Hugh Macmillan  1961
Mr Ian Christians  1962
Mr David Cope 1962
Mr John Clare 1963
Colonel Colin Heggie 1964
The Revd. Roger Stokes  1965
Mr Norman Dawson 1966
Mr John Speed 1967
Mr Daniel Roble 1968
Dr Laurence Gerlis 1968
Mr Mohammed Amin   1969
Brigadier Rod Croucher
     CBE CEng FIMechE  
Mr Peter Jones TD 1971
Dr Nigel Puttick 1972
Dr Nicola Jackson 1973
Mr Andrew Stott 1973
Ms Yvonne Jerrold  1974
Dr David Livesley   1975
Dr Antony Socrates FRCS 1976
Mr Stuart Newstead 1977
Ms Jennifer Barb 1978
Dr Choon Joo Kho 1979
Mr Dominic Haigh 1980
Mr Anthony Davis 1981
Miss Clare Gough  1982
Dr Rachel Crowther 1983
Mr Martin Nesbit 1984
Ms Elisabeth Marksteiner  1985
Dr Ratul Roy 1986
Ms Miranda Fyfe 1987
Ms Sophie Palmer 1988
Mr Benjamin Rigby 1989
Mr Jeremy Phillips 1990
Ms Kirstin Green 1991
Mr Christopher Withers 1992
Miss Melanie Gerlis  1993
Ms Sally Hotchkin 1993
Dr Anna Dempster 1994
Dr Aimee Crago 1995
Mrs Mythili Orton 1996
Mr Ashish Gupta 1997
Mr Stuart Middleton 1998
Dr Richard Flower 1999
Miss Abigail Malortie 2001
Dr Richard Haddon 2002
Mr Joshua Alexander 2003
Miss Hollie Warbis  2003
Mr Michael Malley 2004
Miss Charlotte Kingston 2005
Miss Yuelin Li  2006
Mr Stuart Sheppard 2007
Mr Marcus Buck 2008
Mr William Wynell-Mayow 2009
Miss Rebecca Blaylock 2010
Miss Jemma Phibbs 2011